Die Jury des Banking Awards mit den Preisträger:innen
FH Kufstein Tirol

Award Ceremony for the 1st Banking Award

15.12.2022 | General
Students at the University of Applied Sciences Kufstein Tirol (FH Kufstein Tirol) had until the end of October 2022 to turn in their bachelor and master’s theses for evaluation that were assessed with a grade of Excellent or Good and submitted them for the 1st Banking Award. After evaluation by an expert jury consisting of representatives from Sparkasse Kufstein and FH Kufstein Tirol, the award ceremony for the 1st Banking Award took place on November 21, 2022.

Submissions with a high degree of technical and content-related quality

The Banking Award is a joint initiative of FH Kufstein Tirol and Sparkasse Kufstein with the goal of awarding excellent final papers. Students receive the opportunity to submit their high-quality bachelor and master’s theses written at FH Kufstein Tirol to an expert jury for evaluation. The jury consisting of Prof. (FH) Dr. Kristina Kampfer and Prof. (FH) Dr. Dr. Mario Situm from FH Kufstein Tirol and Dir. Mag. Reinhard Waltl and Mag. (FH) Hannes Widmann from Sparkasse Kufstein did not have an easy task to determine the placement of the papers. Excellent papers with current, relevant topics were submitted that all had their strengths. The following evaluation categories were used for the final determination of the placements that were rated by the individual jury members:

  • Science (scientific quality of the academic paper and the contribution to further development of the scientific research field)
  • Business (business relevance of the topic and elaboration of the practical implications)
  •  Innovation (novelty of the results and innovation of the implementation)

Internationality of the award winners

At the award ceremony, a board member at Sparkasse Kufstein Dir. Mag. Reinhard Waltl directed words of praise to the award winners and especially emphasized that good practical implications had been elaborated in the papers. He regarded nomination as an award winner as a special recognition and also as a sign that the students had performed at a higher level than was required of them. Then the official award ceremony of the certificates and monetary prizes took place, which was sponsored by Sparkasse Kufstein. The awards in the categories of bachelor and master’s theses went to the following persons:

Bachelor theses

  • 1st place: Kaiser, Sabrina
  • 2nd place: Oberhuber, Christoph
  • 3rd place: Eisenbichler, Anna

Master's theses

  • 1st place: Buchauer, Tanja
  • 2nd place: Mensah, Kofi Oyoko
  • 3rd place: Mair, Stephan

Then there was a get-together with catering and the opportunity for personal interaction. The Directors of Studies Prof. (FH) Dr. Peter Dietrich and Prof. (FH) Dr. Dr. Mario Situm had a very positive synopsis. The high quality of the submissions shows that the correct content and skills are being conveyed in the curricula of the individual degree programs at FH Kufstein Tirol so that graduates can enter into the business world with a good, solution-oriented education.

We would like to heartily congratulate all award winners for their special achievement. The competition for the 2nd Banking Award is already underway. Students at FH Kufstein Tirol can submit their bachelor and master’s theses to banking-award@fh-kufstein.ac.at until September 30, 2023. You can find a description of the award and the terms of submission here.